Box Md 755 Madina
20 February 2018
Cinque Terre

Deputy Energy Minister Swears In VRA Board

The Deputy Minister of Energy in charge of Power, Hon. William Owuraku Aidoo has sworn into office the 8-member Volta River Authority Board.
The Board, which is chaired by Mr. Kwaeku Andoh Awotwi, was tasked by the Deputy Energy Minister to provide required leadership to enable VRA maintain its reputation as one of the best generating utilities in the sub region and as a generator of choice in line with its own corporate vision to become “A Model of Excellence for Power Utilities in Africa”.
Addressing the members of the Volta River Authority Board, Hon. William Owuraku Aidoo said that “the appointment of the VRA Board has come at a crucial time in the development of the VRA and power subsector, VRA is still single largest entity in the power generation segment, accounting for approximately 50% of the total installed capacity and with its joint venture partner TICO generate about 70%-80% of the total energy requirement of the country. The uniqueness of VRA also lies in the fact that it has diverse generation assets ranging from hydro, thermal to RE sources such as solar and has power distribution subsidiary. The Ministry is also aware of your efforts to develop 150mw of wind power.”
According to the Deputy Minister of Energy, the Board is expected to address and carry out the Government’s policy directive on VRA’s restructuring and ensure that it is inclusive, consultative and does not pose a potential disruption to the operation of the power sector.
On behalf of the membership of the Board, Mr. Kwaeku Andoh Awotwi, thanked President Akufo-Addo and the Energy Minister, Hon Boakye Agyarko for the confidence reposed in them, assuring that “whatever it takes for us to deliver, we will deliver to ensure that VRA achieves its goals.”
Other members of the Board are; Mr. Emmanue Antwi-Darkwa, Mr. Richard Obeng Okra, Dr. Joyce  Rosalind Aryee, Nana Kobina Nketsia V, Mr.Musah Badimsugru Adam and Mrs. Janet Anane.
Share Share Share